Tree of Life

For my 10th drum, I decided to move on to an idea that’s been brewing for awhile. I’m so pleased with how it turned out! I can’t wait to explore this series.tree-of-life
14″ goat hide drum on wood frame, with mallet
$275
(The tone is INCREDIBLE!)
1.30.17

My final mandala left me uninspired. I like it fine, but the outside ring looks muddy from a distance. Still learning about color, I suppose. And it’s lovely. It just doesn’t have the vibrancy, somehow, that I enjoy in the others from across the room. I do love the impact of the blue triangle, but wish for brightness and purity of color elsewhere.

[UPDATE: Apr. 10, 2017 After seeing this drum from a distance outside at a drum circle, I love that outer ring precisely for its ability to blend with the rest of the mandala. 🙂 ]
9
10″ drum on wood frame with rawhide lacing, plus mallet
$180
1.25.17

4 thoughts on “Tree of Life

  1. I love your mandala series; I think you are being awfully self-critical. It can be really good even if it isn’t the look you are seeking. Self-improvement is important, bud do t let the drum hear you! You don’t want it to feel like it isn’t as good.

    I love the tree design – the symbolism is very rich for me. Nicely done.

    • I am critical, it’s true. It’s a tricky balance between striving for your best and loving what is. This experience has taught me so much about acceptance. My mother always said, “Perfect is the enemy of good,” but I didn’t make peace with imperfection until I started painting. And, though I do play favorites, I like this drum. I’ll tell her so in a little meditation. 😉 As for the tree… well, yes. Me too. *sigh* Me, too. “Trees are poems that the earth writes upon the sky.” – Khalil Gibran

      • I feel so much like the tree of life, accepting energy from the earth and the cosmos and using it to fuel my own dream.

      • I love the metaphor, too, of swaying with the breeze, with life. “The tree that doesn’t bend with the wind won’t last the storm.” Did you know that established trees send nutrition to struggling saplings of their own family? We could go on forever with symbols and messages from trees, rooted and reaching, sturdy but supple…

Leave a Reply

