What Happened?

Maybe writing is like reading: Stop doing it for awhile, and years later you find you just… stopped. That happened to me after I finished my English degree. I was so burned out I said, “I’m not reading again until I feel like it!”

Five years later, I realized I hadn’t read a book in 5 years! I never did “feel” like it, just had to do it. I love to read. I can’t believe how easy it was to forget.

So much has happened, too. Like real, cool stuff to write about, beyond my trademark ramblings and wonderings. I took 2 of the best trips of my life. PORTLAND – reconnecting with an old friend – and ESCALANTE/GRAND STAIRCASE – reconnecting with the Earth and my feet on it! (I needed that after Spain 2 years ago, and Texas and New York last year. I was beginning to think I can’t do this travel thing.)

Ha! I still don’t feel like writing. Suffice that they were awesome trips, full of beauty, joy, magic, adventure, bravery, success, and fun. Now, see pics:

Sat. May 21, 2016

Young redhead in braids at Portland’s Redhead Event

hoops

I made hoops. They were a huge hit!

pippi

We had to bring a childhood pic to be counted. (We were far short of the World Record, but 600+ are more ginge than I’ve enjoyed!) May 21, 2016

rojo

ROJO came to the Redhead Fest! I’ve been in love with him since I saw him on Unlikely Animal Friends on Nat Geo. I almost started crying! I fan-girled OUT.

Rojo the Llama of Mountain Peaks Therapy Llamas and Alpacas

lara and me

International Rose Test Garden with old friend, Lara, who was such a warm and gracious host. It was such a fun, comfortable visit. I began to have travel anxiety when I realized, “No, I’m safe. I just have to ask for what I need.” She was so non-judgy and nice to me!

japanese garden

Japanese Garden, where I became convinced that Portland is a land of fairies under a green canopy, where the Mother breathes and loves and pulses and heals. My friend Renae told me to expect a transformation!

ross island

Ross Island in the Willamette River… This is bikeable green space IN the metropolis! I rode 8+ miles my first day.

*****

calf creek falls

Lower Calf Creek Falls

slot canyon

pictographs

Pictographs!

boulder ut

Boulder, UT, is a funky artist/outdoorfolk enclave.

 

*****

Oh, and a quick weekend at my roommate’s family lodge in Wyoming! June 2016lodgepond

black's fork

Black’s Fork River only crosses the property three times, but it splits off into so many tributaries that I felt like I crossed it a dozen times!

old schoolhouse

Old schoolhouse

jax

Roomie on a Rope Swing

soaked

I struggled on my dismount and went for a swim!

3 thoughts on “What Happened?

  1. I love the redheads (llama!!) and your vacation pics. When I saw the pictographs, I realized that we could be totally companionable on a vacation together! I love petroglyphs/pictographs, llamas, and the outdoors, too! I’m a brunette, though. Sorry!

Leave a Reply

