Drumming and Dancing

I did it! I finally dared to drum for dance! I bombed utterly, and I can’t wait to do it again!

It’s been about a year-and-a-half since I was able to make it through an entire aerobic hour-and-a-half of African dance. Fibro won’t let me. It’s been a bitter and painful loss.

The result has been that I simply don’t go anymore, and I miss my community. Drumming has filled a gap, but not the void entirely. On Saturday I did the warm up, as well as the choreo “add-on” portion of class that Rosie tailors to match whatever traditional dance she’ll teach in the second half.

Then I sat down to pound a rhythm and take it easy. Or so I thought.

Playing at full speed is a whole ‘nother story! I couldn’t keep up the most basic rhythm. But I will!

Leave a Reply

