Embrace the Unknown

I found this awesome quote that speaks to my life’s journey: walking into the unknown. Growing up, I was encouraged to KNOW what my family, friends and community knew, and to say so publicly. I never did, because I never knew. I tried to know. I studied. I prayed and begged. Still, I didn’t know. I felt inferior, ugly, evil, willful, angry, guilty, and unworthy. One day, I let it go and turned around to walk off the plank into a frightening abyss of no answers, no knowing, no script on how to live, no idea what to expect of my future. I took a lot of wrong turns. Ultimately, I found myself dancing in the question mark. I love not knowing!

“… Uncertainty is a great liberating gift to the psyche and the spirit. It’s walking the razor’s edge of the sacred moment where you don’t know, you can’t count on, and comfort yourself with any sure hope. All you can know is your allegiance to life and your intention to serve it in this moment that we are given. In that sense, this radical uncertainty liberates your creativity and courage.” -Joanna Macy

Leave a Reply

