War Horse

war horseAn acquaintance is in the National Touring Company of War Horse and got me a ticket the week they were in Salt Lake. Last week, my birthday. It was a great present. I still can hardly speak about the impact this production had on me. It’s the best thing I’ve ever seen. Just amazing! It’s truly unbelievable what they accomplished on that stage. I’m still thinking about what I saw and felt.

Since I am yet monosyllabic about the fact that puppets were breathing, I will talk about a life-altering moment I had regarding munitions. In one scene, the English cavalry gallops into enemy lines and is mowed down by machine gun fire. In WWI this was new technology! I’d never thought of that. It never once occurred to me what it meant the day the military advanced that way and, worse, the day it was introduced in battle. Horses and men with swords charged a fortified wall of automatic weaponry! There was a moment that I was completely transported from the present day. “Oh my god, the world just changed.” Right before my eyes.

Leave a Reply

