Sergei Bongart

Portrait of a Young Girl174_01
Signed lower right. Note: Authentication by the artist’s wife lower right: Sergei Bongart 1989. (In fact, it was 1984.) Certified by P. LeG. Bongart. Provenance: Estate, San Pedro; by descent in the family to the present owner. Condition: Visual: Generally good condition. Scattered spots of minor crazing. No evidence of restoration under blacklight.

I modeled privately for Sergei and Patricia LeGrande Bongart for several weeks in Summer 1984. I must have whined enough that they let me take off the beautiful blue Russian shawl I wore in the Spring session at his school in Rexburg. They wanted me in the same wool dress mom made (that I had worn for warmth in the cold Idaho Spring) and it was SOOO hot! My mom, brother, and sister got to go swimming!

I had no idea my brush with greatness. WOW! I’ve been looking for this for years!!!

“Portrait of a Young Girl” sold through John Moran Fine Art & Antiques Auctioneers on June 18, 2013 for $459.38… Wonder who has me now! (On the back is the original price, handwritten… $5000!)

http://www.sergeibongart.com
Sergei Bongart, Notes on Painting: http://www.nasonart.com/writing/bongartlessons.html

“[Sergei] purchased a log cabin, with acreage, near Rexburg, Idaho, and quickly added buildings for a second school. His heart took a big leap when he visited this part of Idaho and found it was the same latitude as his home in Russia [Ukraine]. There were magpies in the trees, lush lilac bushes and the same animal life. At last he felt at home! Many of his paintings came from this rustic setting.” – Patricia LeGrande Bongart

Patricia told me in an email (in 2006 or 2007) that my one of my portraits hangs in the Santa Monica gallery, but when I emailed her again letting her know I was visiting (in 2009) I didn’t hear back. I found the gallery, but didn’t get an answer. She also said one of the portraits from this sitting was featured in an art magazine in New York.

I am utterly honored, humbled, and amazed.sergei bongart gallery
http://dreamermadwoman.blogspot.com/2009/04/california-follies-march-2009.html
aunt mary's wedding
Mom made my flower girl dress for Aunt Mary’s wedding in 1980. Four years later I wore it over jeans to keep warm (with a blue Russian shawl from Mr. Bongart).

Leave a Reply

