Africa Heartwood Project

It’s amazing how, when I’m tense or intimidated, I cannot keep rhythm! I know simple upbeats, for heaven’s sake, but I’ll be damned if all I could do today in my first rehearsal with Africa Heartwood Project was find the downbeat. Sometimes.

I learned the basic melody and lyrics to 2 songs, and in 3 hours I perform with them in a Benefit Concert for Water. One day I hope to dance, too, but tonight I’ll just smile, sing, and shake a bead-covered gourd thing. (And my tail feather… just a little.)

http://www.africaheartwoodproject.com

It’s amazing how, when I’m onstage, I relax into simple upbeats and words I don’t even know! I sang all but one of the songs, and I rocked the rhythm! The Benefit Concert for Water succeeded in raising more than enough for the bore hole at Kukwaado, as well a hand-dug well in a Liberian village, and to begin saving for a third water project. It was a great evening. I felt honored to be a part of it, and happy! It confirmed that I belong on the stage. I love performing. There’s something about a live audience that makes my spirit sing. I’ll participate with Africa Heartwood Project whenever I can, and continue auditioning until I get a musical. And another and another and another!

Leave a Reply

